On this page
Quick Answer
Occasional helpers need a paid seat only when they must reply to customers or own tickets. Reading tickets, adding internal notes and approving requests stay on a free light agent role.
Phone, chat and Knowledge admin rights are the exceptions that can still cost a seat. Upgrading takes one role change. Downgrading means reassigning their open tickets first.
Zazachat compiled this matrix from published vendor documentation and guides, not from its own testing.
Key Points
- Zendesk's documented role rules, checked in September 2026, reserve public replies to customers and ticket assignment for full agents at every plan level.
- Zendesk Suite Enterprise includes up to 1,000 light agents and Enterprise Plus up to 5,000, according to a getmacha.com guide checked against Zendesk's documentation.
- Macha's July 2026 Zoho Desk pricing breakdown put light agents at a $6 per agent a month add-on on Standard and Professional, with 50 free licenses on Enterprise.
Reading and noting rarely need a paid seat; answering the customer usually does.
Zazachat does not sell live chat software. It is an independent publication that reviews and ranks customer support tools, so it has no seat of its own to sell you.
That matters here because most guidance on help desk seats hedges. A 2025 Zendesk tutorial on YouTube defines the light agent as a role for people who view and comment on tickets without fully handling them, then warns that light agents "might consume paid seats based on certain features or roles." It never says which ones.
I think the hedge hides a plain rule. The permission matrix in this article separates what an occasional helper can do for free (reading, internal notes, approvals, email side conversations) from the actions that cost a full seat, and the dividing line is almost always the public reply. Ticket assignment sits beside it. The edge cases, from Knowledge admin rights to Talk access, get their own section, because that is where seats leak.
Seat timing costs money too. Zoho Desk lists Professional at $35 per agent a month on monthly billing, a 52% premium over annual, so buying seats month to month for the freedom to rotate helpers carries a real price. The same tutorial flags a step admins often skip: reassign a full agent's open tickets before downgrading them, because a light agent cannot manage them.
Replying to a customer is the action that puts an occasional helper on a paid seat. Reading tickets does not. Neither does leaving an internal note. A light agent is the reduced role built around that line: an internal collaborator who can view tickets and comment privately but cannot answer the customer. Zoho Desk's plan comparison, as summarized in a 2026 pricing guide, names supervisors, engineers and stakeholders as the typical users, and it leaves the role off the Free plan entirely.
Zendesk bills full seats at $55 per agent a month on Suite Team and $115 on Suite Professional, on annual billing. That rate is built for people who work the queue all day, not for an engineer who weighs in on a handful of tickets.
Ticket status is softer than the role descriptions suggest. One organization's internal Zendesk training let light agents solve, pend or hold tickets through admin-built macros, while public comments, chats and calls stayed off limits. Before approving a seat request, ask your admin which status macros already exist, since one well-built macro can keep a helper below the paid wall.
The permission matrix that follows is compiled from published vendor documentation and guides, not from an in-house test across help desks, and it starts on the free side of that wall.
What can an occasional helper do without a paid help desk seat?
Reading tickets, being copied on them and adding private internal notes cost nothing in Zendesk, as long as the helper is set up as a light agent within the plan cap.
Before anyone asks for a seat, check three things in order:
- Does the person only need to read tickets and comment privately?
- Can their ticket access be limited to their organization, group or brand?
- Is the account still under its plan's light agent cap?
Zendesk Suite Enterprise includes up to 1,000 light agents and Enterprise Plus up to 5,000, according to a getmacha.com guide whose permissions were checked against Zendesk's own documentation in September 2026. The same guide puts Suite Growth at up to 50 and Suite Professional at up to 100, while Suite Team gets light agents only as an add-on and Support-only plans need the Collaboration add-on. The allowance does not grow with the number of full seats you buy.
A light agent is a staff role that can see and discuss tickets internally but cannot work them for the customer. In practice, that covers most of what an engineer, finance lead or lawyer does on a ticket. Three yeses on the checks above put the helper in this role.
The common assumption is that a light agent is a read-only login. The documented role is wider than that, and approval rights sit on the free side:
| Action by an occasional helper | Paid seat needed in Zendesk? | Condition in the documentation |
|---|---|---|
| View tickets | No | Scope set by organization, group, brand or all tickets |
| Be copied (CC) on a ticket | No | Keeps the helper in the loop |
| Add a private internal note | No | Turns public if the helper is the requester outside the ticket's group or brand |
| Create a ticket for an end user | No | First comment stays private until an agent replies publicly |
| Run an email side conversation | No | Create, reply, close and reopen |
| Approve in an approval workflow | No | Acts as approver |
| Apply an existing macro | No | Fails if the macro performs a disallowed action |
| View a shared Explore dashboard | No | Professional and Enterprise plans only |
Visibility is the second lever. A November 2025 video guide to the role explains that light agents can be copied on tickets and usually see only tickets within their groups, with broader access depending on how the plan is configured. In Admin Center, non-Enterprise plans let an admin choose the helper's organization, their groups or all tickets, while Enterprise replaces the all-tickets option with choices such as their groups plus all public groups, or everything within their brand membership.
One quirk deserves a warning. When a light agent is the requester on a ticket outside their group or brand, their private comment is converted to public. A note meant for colleagues can then reach the customer.
Across 4 published descriptions of the role, the core never changes: read access and private comments stay off the paid seat count. The paid line sits further out than many admins assume.
I would add one honest caveat about the word free. Every light agent is still an account someone must add, scope and remove as roles change, so the cost moves from the invoice to the admin's calendar. For teams with many occasional helpers, that trade still favors the light role.
Reviews at Zazachat are written and edited by our editorial team, led by Daniel Calloway, and the standards behind that work are published in our editorial and disclosure policy. The table above is compiled from cited role documentation rather than from a Zazachat test set. If you are still shortlisting platforms, our rankings of help desk software with live chat cover the wider buying decision. When nobody can say which row of that table a helper needs, I would start them as a light agent and change the role only when a real ticket calls for a paid action.
Which single action turns an occasional helper into a billed seat?
In Zendesk, two actions always cost a full seat: replying publicly to a customer and being assigned a ticket. Editing ticket fields, serving chats or calls, and admin roles follow.
A September 2026 affiliate pricing video says Gorgias charges by ticket volume rather than per agent, so not every vendor bills those actions by the seat. Zendesk's documented role rules, as checked in September 2026, reserve the following actions for a full agent, and none of them is available to a light agent at any plan level:
| Action an occasional helper might attempt | Paid seat needed? | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Reply publicly to a customer | Yes | The core restriction on the light role |
| Be assigned a ticket | Yes | Ownership stays with full agents |
| Change status or edit priority, type, group or custom fields | Yes | Unless the helper is the ticket's requester |
| Create macros, triggers or automations | Yes | On Enterprise, light agents cannot even view triggers and automations |
| Create end users or edit user profiles | Yes | Profile changes are agent work |
| Serve chat or messaging, answer calls, respond to CSAT surveys | Yes | Every live customer channel |
| Create, send or be assigned side conversation child tickets | Yes | Email side conversations remain free |
| Hold the Knowledge admin role | Yes | On Growth and Professional plans |
Read the first two rows as the real price tag. A helper who must answer the customer or own the ticket is doing support work, and the vendor bills support work by the seat. Most other rows are variations on those two: chats, calls and survey replies are customer conversations in another channel, while status and field edits are what an owner does. The remainder are admin powers no occasional helper needs.
Consultants who configure the role warn that the published light agent limits do not apply to legacy plans or add-ons, so older accounts should confirm their own allowance. They add a sharper upgrade signal. A light agent who keeps drafting replies for colleagues to paste is already doing paid work through a proxy, and the cleaner fix is a seat.
Some triggers hide in other products. A 2022 breakdown of Zendesk roles listed Explore admin and editor, Talk agent and team lead, and Chat agent roles as counting against Support seats, while Explore and Guide viewers did not. It also warned that a light agent granted Explore admin permission needed a Support seat.
Voice shows how far documentation and selling can drift apart. In a January 2024 r/Zendesk thread, an admin implementing Zendesk Professional reported that the documentation said light agents could not use Zendesk Talk, while their account manager said yes. All 5 commenters either said light agents could not use Talk natively or recommended a two-system setup instead. One wrote, "I'd go with the documentation which has a firm 'no'." Another explained that Talk access needed a different Support role.
My advice from that exchange is blunt. Treat a verbal yes on seat entitlements as a no until it appears in the order form.
Live chat follows the same logic. A helper who serves chat conversations is a full agent, so the per-seat prices in our live chat software rankings apply to every person who answers a website visitor. For a phone-heavy team, the seat count is set by who answers calls, not by who works tickets.
Does the reply rule hold everywhere, or do paid seats creep in from the edges?
One help desk customer planning its phone setup got two answers to the same seat question, one from the documentation and one from its own account manager. They contradicted each other.
In January 2024 the organization was rolling out its vendor's Professional plan and wanted staff without a full license to use Talk, the vendor's native phone product. Its admin asked on Reddit whether light agents could, writing: “The documentation here says "no" but our sales guy/account mgr is saying "yes".” All five people who replied either backed the documentation or suggested running a second phone system. One said light agents "need a different Support role to enable Talk access." Another allowed that a sales rep might override the setting for a single account.
The thread captures a pattern we kept meeting. The core rule about customers is clear and consistent, and most of the surprises sit around it.
Start with the core. In both help desks we compared, the thread's suite-based vendor and Zoho Desk, the free role stops in the same place. Suite light agents can read tickets and write private notes, but they cannot reply publicly or be assigned a ticket. In Zoho Desk, according to a pricing breakdown by Macha updated in September 2026, light agents "can view tickets and leave comments without replying to customers." Sarah Hurd, VP Professional Services at the help desk consultancy Faye Digital, offers a practical sign that someone has outgrown the role: "If a light agent keeps drafting replies for others to paste, it’s time to upgrade them."
The edges are harder to spot. Geckoboard, a dashboard vendor, notes that "a light agent doesn’t take up a Support seat, but a light agent with Explore admin permission requires a Support seat." Its 2022 role table counts every listed Talk and Chat role as a seat. Macha, which says it checked the vendor's documentation in September 2026, adds that making a light agent a Knowledge admin uses a seat on Growth and Professional. Several of these triggers involve no customer at all.
| What the helper is given | Customer contact? | What our sources say |
|---|---|---|
| Explore admin | None | Requires a Support seat (Geckoboard, 2022) |
| Explore editor | None | Counted as a seat in Geckoboard's 2022 table, though Macha (2026) says admins on Professional and Enterprise can let light agents edit reports. Check your own account. |
| Knowledge admin | None | Uses a seat on Growth and Professional (Macha, 2026) |
| Talk, chat or messaging | Yes, by phone or chat | Reserved for full roles. Every listed Talk and Chat role counts as a seat (Geckoboard, 2022). |
| A full role nobody noticed | None | Macha says the vendor provides a report to find light agents quietly taking up paid seats |
Knowledge base work shows how easily a helper drifts upward. In a September 2026 Reddit thread, a startup admin described employees who "occasionally help out with tickets and update the KB," and called moving each of them between light agent and agent or admin "fairly chaotic." Ayin's internal IT help center points to a narrower option: an optional light agent permission to add and edit articles, set section by section. The page does not state Ayin's plan, so whether the option fits another team's setup is still an open question.
Then there is the allowance. The light role is free only up to a plan's cap, and on some plans it is never free.
| Plan | Light roles |
|---|---|
| Suite Team | Paid add-on only |
| Support-only plans | Need the Collaboration add-on |
| Suite Growth | Up to 50 (existing accounts. The plan is no longer on the public pricing page.) |
| Suite Professional | Up to 100 |
| Suite Enterprise | Up to 1,000 |
| Suite Enterprise Plus | Up to 5,000 |
| Zoho Desk Free | Not available |
| Zoho Desk Standard and Professional | $6 per light agent a month, as an add-on |
| Zoho Desk Enterprise | 50 included |
Above the cap, Suite customers can buy more light agents, but Macha found no published price in the vendor's documentation.
One line stays blurry: ticket status. Macha and a November 2025 walkthrough by Dave, head of customer success at the consultancy CX Experts, both say Suite light agents cannot edit status or fields, with Macha excepting tickets the light agent requested. Yet Ayin's training page says its light agents "can modify fields as well as solve, mark as pending, or place a hold on tickets using macros" that admins provide. Macha offers a partial explanation: light agents can apply existing macros, but a macro that performs an action the role doesn't allow won't work. None of our sources says exactly which status macros run, so you have to test them.
So the reply rule held in both help desks we checked. The paid seats came from somewhere else: an analytics or knowledge permission given for convenience, a phone or chat queue, a plan allowance smaller than people assumed, or a role change nobody tracked. Our sources name these triggers. None of them measures how often each one actually moves a helper onto a paid seat.
Before you add the next helper
- Before you give a light agent Explore, Knowledge admin, Talk or chat access, check whether that role counts as a seat on your plan.
- For helpers who only edit help articles, ask whether section-level article permissions would cover them before you upgrade them to agent or admin.
- If a sales rep says a light agent can do something the documentation rules out, ask them to confirm the exception for your account in writing.
- Count your light agents against your plan's allowance, and check whether your plan includes the role at all.
- If you want light agents to solve or pend tickets through macros, test each macro from a light agent account before you roll it out.
How we checked this
Our sources were two 2026 guides from Macha, a support company that advertises its own audit service; an article by the help desk consultancy Faye Digital; a 2022 guide from Geckoboard, a dashboard vendor; a video from the consultancy CX Experts; one organization's internal training page; and two Reddit threads from admins. None of the figures comes from us. We are a review publication and do not sell help desk seats, but each of these publishers has its own commercial interest. We did not read the vendor documentation ourselves. We relied on guides that say they checked it. Geckoboard's role table dates from 2022 and may be out of date. The Reddit threads and Ayin's page each describe one organization, and Ayin's plan is not stated. Still unknown: how often each trigger actually leads to an upgrade, and whether Zoho Desk has edge cases like the suite vendor's. Our sources did not cover them.
- Macha, guide to the light agent role, June 2026, updated September 2026.
- Macha, Zoho Desk pricing explained, July 2026, updated September 2026.
- Geckoboard, guide to managing agent seats, November 2022.
- Sarah Hurd, Faye Digital, article on light agents and collaboration, April 2023, updated July 2026.
- Ayin IT Help Center, light agent training page, May 2025.
- CX Experts, light agent walkthrough video, November 2025.
- Reddit admin forum, thread on light agents and Talk, January 2024.
- Reddit admin forum, thread on managing seats, September 2026.
How do you keep occasional helpers off paid seats without breaking the rules?
Audit by activity, not logins: move anyone who only writes internal notes to a light role, and rotate full seats for helpers who reply occasionally.
Run the review in this order:
- Export the team member list and sort it by last login, flagging anyone idle for weeks or months.
- For active users, check what they post. Anyone who writes only internal comments is a downgrade candidate.
- Reassign their open tickets, then change the role to light agent.
- Give a helper who must reply a full seat for that task, then unassign it when the task ends.
- Repeat the review every quarter rather than the month before renewal.
Step two is where most audits stall. Last login is easy to read in the admin panel, but admins who have tried this point out that it is far harder to see who posts only internal comments. They argue that tickets touched and Help Center edits say more about real activity than logins do. A login-only review misses the person who visits daily and never replies.
Step four is the compliant answer to a tempting shortcut. In a September 2026 r/Zendesk thread on managing seats, a startup admin described swapping occasional helpers between light agent and agent or admin seats as "fairly chaotic" and asked about a shared login instead. A commenter replied, "Sharing of licences is against the terms of service but you can assign and unassign licences at will." Seat pressure is not only a startup problem, either: another commenter said their telecom employer's about 130 seats were "always on the verge of having none free."
Rotation is clumsy. It is also allowed.
The leak is large enough to justify the effort. One license management vendor says its data shows 45% of Zendesk licenses go unused, and it warns that cutting seats at renewal can cost negotiated discounts. That argues for reclaiming seats mid-contract, while nothing is being negotiated.
Buyers often ask about a day pass for the helper who replies twice a month. None of the vendor documentation cited here describes one. Temporary assignment of a full seat is the closest legitimate equivalent.
Pricing structure changes the math as well. A July 2026 Zoho Desk pricing breakdown put light agents at a $6 per agent a month add-on on Standard and Professional, against full seats of $14 and $23 on annual billing, while Enterprise at $40 includes 50 free light agent licenses. Its worked example found that a 10-agent team with 5 light agents pays about $3,120 a year on Professional, against $4,800 a year on Enterprise. At the other extreme, one flat-priced help desk described in 2022 offered no reduced-cost seat at all, so every person on the account paid for the full feature set.
For a handful of helpers, the add-on beats the tier upgrade. A flat model charges full price for exactly the people this article is about. I would price both paths before assuming a bigger plan's allowance is a saving, and small teams weighing those trade-offs can compare options in our live chat picks for small businesses.
A third model is arriving on top of both. Zendesk's outcome-based pricing was described at an August 2026 industry panel as paying for resolutions rather than seats, so the question of who may press reply is starting to share the invoice with how many tickets actually close.
Will the reply rule still decide your help desk bill next year?
Yes for seats, less so for the total. Public replies and ticket ownership will keep defining paid seats, while AI agent meters claim a growing share of the invoice.
A May 2026 analysis of SaaS renewals on Nate's Substack found that ServiceNow, Workday, Zendesk, HubSpot and Atlassian had each added an agent meter under their own name. Microsoft went further, stacking a separate $15-per-user agent governance license on top of its $30 Copilot seat. "The seat is not dead. It is being wrapped in a meter for delegated work," the author concluded.
I expect the reply line to matter more as those meters arrive. Not less. Seats will price who is allowed to talk to customers, and meters will price the work that never needed a person. A helper who reads, notes and approves belongs on neither line. Before the next renewal, list everyone who actually replied to a customer during the term, buy full seats for that list alone, and ask the vendor in writing what each automated resolution will cost on top.
Summarize This Article With AI
Open this article in your preferred AI engine for an instant summary.
Frequently Asked Questions
What else do people ask about light agent seats?
Most questions come back to one line: reading, noting and approving stay on the light role, while answering customers or owning tickets needs a full seat.
Do occasional support helpers need a paid agent seat?
Only if they reply to customers or take ticket assignments. A light agent is a staff role that can read tickets and leave internal notes without consuming a paid seat, within the plan's allowance. Engineers, finance leads and managers who weigh in on a handful of tickets usually fit it.
How do you make someone a light agent in Zendesk?
Upgrade the end user to a staff member, then set their role to light agent in Admin Center. A CX Experts walkthrough adds a practical step: place the person in groups so they see the right views. They then get an email to create a password and must sign in to view tickets.
How do you pull a light agent into a ticket?
In the same CX Experts demo, an agent @-tags the light agent, who receives a follower email linking to the ticket. Some guides report that @mentions trip people up. Where one fails, I would CC the person directly or open a side conversation instead.
Can a light agent see reports?
Yes, within limits. On Professional and Enterprise, an admin can let light agents view shared Explore dashboards, or grant the Analytics permission that lets them create and edit reports.
Can a light agent email someone outside the company?
Yes, through an email side conversation. A side conversation is a separate email thread opened from a ticket, so an outside expert can weigh in without ticket access. The customer still hears nothing until a full agent replies.
Read next
The Metric Continuity Map for switching help desk software
Will your support metrics change if you switch help desk software? Learn why FRT and CSAT drift by definition and how to map 6 metrics before cutover.
Read
We timed 10 help desks from signup to first resolution
We timed 10 help desks from signup to first resolved ticket—41 minutes to 9 days. See the full breakdown before you pick your platform.
Read
The Exit Drill: rehearse a support switch every quarter
Run a quarterly Exit Drill to measure time-to-exit and slash support platform migration from months to under 72 hours. Start your drill today.
Read